Biker.ie Forums

Biker.ie Forums (https://www.biker.ie/forum/index.php)
-   The Workshop (https://www.biker.ie/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=36)
-   -   No cranking amps (https://www.biker.ie/forum/showthread.php?t=247964)

the dessert fox 14th March 2019 11:18 AM

No cranking amps
 
Went to start the 916 yesterday and found the Motobatt battery had lost it's amps. Had it on charge a couple of days prior to the start, plus twice over the course of the winter to keep it fresh. Hasn't been cold either and the battery is new enough. I know a permanent float charge is better, but I'm still kinda pissed off. Reckon the original Yuasa was a damn sight more robust.
Anyone try to recover one of these batts?

ehonda 14th March 2019 01:43 PM

Re: No cranking amps
 
Ive a small motobatt in a mc22 and it never fails me despite being sat for 1-2 months at a time.

Arent the ducs prone to weathered leads that reduce the cranking power, theres even kits on ebay to replace the girthier wiring

Confusion 14th March 2019 02:09 PM

Re: No cranking amps
 
[quote=the dessert fox;3566944]Had it on charge a couple of days prior to the start, plus twice over the course of the winter to keep it fresh.[/quote]

They don't like to be left at low charge. Most bikes take a few mA to
keep the clock and digital dash alive. An alarm can flatten a battery
in a week or two. The NCS alarm in my ZZR draws about 14mA, even
when it isn't set. I never leave the bike idle for more than a week without
riding it or connecting a charger.

[quote]but I'm still kinda pissed off. [/quote]

It's a pain in the hole. My last Yuasa died after just two years
because of a charging fault that gave it 15V+ when the lights
are on.

[quote]Anyone try to recover one of these batts?[/quote]

They will usually survive being fully discharged for a
short time when Parking lights, heated grips or ignition
are left on by accident.

They generally don't come back if they are left flat
for a longer period. I can't specify an exact time period,
but certainly weeks or months of low charge will do damage.

Still, there is no harm in trying. What voltage is it showing now?
What kind of charger are you using? Smart chargers may be
unable to charge a very flat battery because they can't determine
whether it is 6V or 12V. An old-school charger may work better
in some cases.

woodsman 14th March 2019 02:39 PM

Re: No cranking amps
 
Left the ignition on recently flattened my mottobat had to connect it to another battery to fool the charger. Time will tell if itís just a big yella paper weight now. Never had any bother with mottobatts.

Jaded 14th March 2019 03:51 PM

Re: No cranking amps
 
I spotted a post on a fb group only last week about motobatts. A few lads had the same problem .showing correct voltage but had lost the amps .not much help to you I know but it's not unknown .

hornethead 14th March 2019 05:10 PM

Re: No cranking amps
 
Motobatt had an issue with this a few years ago and were replacing batteries under warranty. Might be worth a check.
If you don't use the bike for a extended period I'd recommend fitting a battery deadlock. I did this with my bike when I was away with work and you can leave a charger on it and not worry about bike electrics issues.

the dessert fox 14th March 2019 05:32 PM

Re: No cranking amps
 
I use a lab DC supply for charging. What I'm gonna do is discharge it to zero and trickle charge it back up at low amps.
I used the Lidl/Aldi charger/starter to get it running. Didn't seem to have much of a problem punching through if it was a bad lead situation.

Jaded 14th March 2019 07:08 PM

Re: No cranking amps
 
Another thing to consider too is motobatt are agm and motobatt don't recommend a normal charger [URL="www.motobatt.com/FAQ-MotoBatt-Battery-Charger&p=68&b=60"]www.motobatt.com/FAQ-MotoBatt-Battery-Charger&p=68&b=60[/URL]

vifferman 14th March 2019 11:42 PM

Re: No cranking amps
 
[quote=Jaded;3566970]I spotted a post on a fb group only last week about motobatts. A few lads had the same problem .showing correct voltage but had lost the amps .not much help to you I know but it's not unknown .[/quote]

You can't have good volts and lose the amps. If you tested a battery like that under load, you would find that the volts disappear too.
If a battery has good voltage, but goes to zero under load, it usually means that there is an open circuit internally, so only good for scrap.

rusty.bullet.hole 15th March 2019 07:02 AM

Re: No cranking amps
 
I had a motobat go dead after 2 years. Battery was well minded too. Popped onto a charger every other week. Wouldn't bother with another one personally

Jaded 15th March 2019 08:18 AM

Re: No cranking amps
 
[quote=vifferman;3567004]You can't have good volts and lose the amps. If you tested a battery like that under load, you would find that the volts disappear too.
If a battery has good voltage, but goes to zero under load, it usually means that there is an open circuit internally, so only good for scrap.[/quote]

Yup .I hadn't phrased it right .i think what happened them was it showed 12 v or whatever but wouldn't start the bikes

hrcbob 15th March 2019 09:30 AM

Re: No cranking amps
 
For a big duke its hard to beat old lead acid tech.
The earlier 916 especially had a highly geared starter that makes them a bugger to turn when stone cold.

For long periods I either leave mine on an optimate or disconnect the battery lead.
The 916 battery lead is pretty much accessible through the cutout in the fairing if there is no mesh in it so its easily done.

My race van used to spend all winter with the leads disconnected and never failed to start once reconnected without ever using a charger.

allsorts&oddjobs 15th March 2019 10:11 AM

Re: No cranking amps
 
Had two motobats fuck up on me, one had a cell go bad, swelled up , other just died despite being properly minded, wouldnt get one again tbh.

Frankkilty 15th March 2019 10:10 PM

Re: No cranking amps
 
I might have missed something in the posts, so sorry if I have. I've an odyssey battery in the Gs. It's a bit like the motobat. When I got the bike first, it had spots hard wired to the battery. Not switched. Anyway, left the spots on, battery dead. Took out battery and tried to charge it using a decent charger but no dice. Whatever the circuitry in those type of batteries it just wouldn't charge.

So the answer to it was to get the fully charged battery out of the other bike, wire them in series and left attached charger. It worked. read about it somewhere. Might be worth googling see if it helps. My odyssey is still cranking out and starting the big twin two years later.

the dessert fox 16th March 2019 10:54 AM

Re: No cranking amps
 
[quote=Frankkilty;3567086]I might have missed something in the posts, so sorry if I have. I've an odyssey battery in the Gs. It's a bit like the motobat. When I got the bike first, it had spots hard wired to the battery. Not switched. Anyway, left the spots on, battery dead. Took out battery and tried to charge it using a decent charger but no dice. Whatever the circuitry in those type of batteries it just wouldn't charge.

So the answer to it was to get the fully charged battery out of the other bike, wire them in series and left attached charger. It worked. read about it somewhere. Might be worth googling see if it helps. My odyssey is still cranking out and starting the big twin two years later.[/quote]

Not in series I'd say, in parallel. It's done to fool a charger when battery terminal voltage has fallen too low

the dessert fox 12th April 2019 04:52 PM

Re: No cranking amps
 
Update on this for what its worth. Flattened the bugger slowly over a couple of days till the terminal voltage was only 7V. Then I recharged it over the course of a week and a half at 30mA. Seems to have worked, it's now holding charge and delivering the required punch.....

Unfazed 12th April 2019 05:02 PM

Re: No cranking amps
 
Was it a gel battery?

the dessert fox 12th April 2019 06:21 PM

Re: No cranking amps
 
[quote=Unfazed;3569195]Was it a gel battery?[/quote]

Twas

Gixxer 12th April 2019 06:25 PM

Re: No cranking amps
 
[quote=the dessert fox;3569200]Twas[/quote]

I'm pretty sure Motobatt don't make gel batteries.

me2 12th April 2019 06:47 PM

[quote=Jaded;3567010]Yup .I hadn't phrased it right .i think what happened them was it showed 12 v or whatever but wouldn't start the bikes[/quote]
Testing voltage when NOT under load is a feckless waste of valuable time.


Return to MAIN BIKER.IE DISCUSSION FORUMS