Biker.ie Forums

Biker.ie Forums (https://www.biker.ie/forum/index.php)
-   General Bike Chat (https://www.biker.ie/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=35)
-   -   Working on the bike (https://www.biker.ie/forum/showthread.php?t=249476)

Syllabus 10th August 2019 01:56 AM

Working on the bike

Even though I'm a mechanic by trade (not hands on for a good while) the sense of accomplishment from working on the bike is amazing.
New rear shock done! Popping noise from the engine sorted(turned out to be a loose plug and plug lead. New plugs done. New grips, new mirrors, fix sticking rear brake, done. Repair damaged panels and repaint, done.

I never get sick of this!!!!!

CodeJACK 10th August 2019 01:59 AM

Re: Working on the bike

Fair play. Im not the best at it myself but I do love giving anything a go and figuring it out :thumbsup2:

joe williams 10th August 2019 03:07 AM

Its what its about for me , always need a project.

iano 10th August 2019 08:04 AM

Feel the same
Although the vmax is fighting me tbh

Japcati 10th August 2019 08:37 AM

Well I saved th guts of 200 euro just by buying service parts for the Varadero online.
Fitted new discs and pads last night in the garage.
Allmost therapeutic....

faz1 10th August 2019 05:51 PM

Make sure you have a good vice grip and a fresh tube of tec-7 always in the box :smileee:

me2 10th August 2019 06:14 PM

[quote=faz1;3577787]Make sure you have a good vice grip and a fresh tube of tec-7 always in the box :smileee:[/quote]
might also need gaffa tape and bailing twine in that box.

:lbhbh:

cbroar 10th August 2019 10:34 PM

Fairplay, hopefully that shock will transform the bike.

johnny b 10th August 2019 11:47 PM

It's all therapy until the shit hits the fan!
I've made every cock up in the book and then some at some stage!
Great for learning but some amount of wasted hours trying to come up with solutions!

I usually end up buying tools when I get stuck... It's a great way to justify power tools or fancy torque wrenches.