Biker.ie Forums

Biker.ie Forums (https://www.biker.ie/forum/index.php)
-   The Workshop (https://www.biker.ie/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=36)
-   -   Tyre size? (https://www.biker.ie/forum/showthread.php?t=248161)

PADDYOT 13th April 2019 04:42 PM

Tyre size?

Lads,

Well after what seems like a [B]very [/B]short number of miles, I need to get a new back tyre for the bike. (2016 KTM Superduke R).

OEM tyres are Dunlop Sportsmax Sportsmart 2's. I've no experience of these.

The bike currently has Pirelli Diablo Supercorsa SPs fitted and I like 'em. No issue with grip or feel. They warm up nicely. Typically, but not always, I go for a ride in dry weather conditions so not too bothered about how a tyre performs in the pissing rain.

My question is, OEM size for the rear is 190/55/Z17 but what's on it at the minute is a [B]200[/B]/55/Z17.

Why fit a fatter tyre? What advantage if any is a 200 section over a 190? Should I go back to the recommended size? I haven't really noticed any issue with handling on the current tyre.

tankas 13th April 2019 08:54 PM

Re: Tyre size?

Don't fit wider tyre, its not a cage and messes the handling, get what's recommended, Michelin PowerRS or Continental SportAttack 3 if you ride your bike mostly in fair weather.

batman_oh 13th April 2019 09:00 PM

200 Supercorsa is actually narrower if talking about actual physical width than lots of 190s (have one on 1199 and 190 on 1290). They are a tall tyre and will have more side wall for extra grip coming out of corners, where the Dunlop is much flatter.
I stuck the metzler m7rr on the 1290 and they work well. Similar profile to pirelli Rosso corsa and miles better all round than Supercorsa (longer life, work in cold and wet). The Dunlop’s were ok - nothing great.

DavyH 13th April 2019 09:41 PM

6 rim is good for up to 205mm width...Id be more inclined to run a 55 than a 50 for road use

Christopher Livingstone Eubanks 13th April 2019 11:00 PM