Biker.ie Forums Irish Motorbike Enthusiasts
Home Events Bikes for Sale Mobile Motorbike Chat Racing Rideouts

Go Back   Biker.ie Forums > General > The Workshop

Old 23rd December 2015, 10:24 AM
Novice Racer

Biker.ie Member No. 35237 from Dublin
52 posts since Aug 2015
Motorbike: 2000 SV650s
Default Motorcycle mechanics evening classes - Larkin Community College Dublin 2

Hey all,

Seen this ad on donedeal for "Motorcycle mechanics evening classes" in Dublin and was wondering if anyone had done it before...

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagebikes-...asses/11114543

Seems to have three levels "Basics", "Advanced" and "Project".

I am a new rider who got his license in England last year for shits n gigs. Not really a big into bikes or anything, just never really liked the fact that I hadn't a clue how to ride one But I am a little bit of a petrol head, I have a degree in mechanical engineering and do most of the maintenance work on my car.

Like I say, I'm not really a big into bikes, but I am big into anything mechanical (I know, I'm an anorak ) So I would be more interested in taking on a project and refurbing an old bike back to health.

I was wondering if anyone could recommend this course? Is it worth the money? I am very familiar with car engines and maintenance, would I be better just getting and old bike and cracking on?

If anyone has done the course, could they tell me how basic the "Basic" part is? Are we talking explanations of what a spanner is, or something for appropriate for someone with a bit of mechanical background?

Cheers,
Chris
Old 23rd December 2015, 12:56 PM
Veteran Racer

Biker.ie Member No. 5067 from Kildare-ish.
4,677 posts since Apr 2007
Motorbike: RR4 Blade
Modifications: Arrow can, pc3.
Default Re: Motorcycle mechanics evening classes - Larkin Community College Dublin 2

This is probably the best run bike course in ireland and worth every penny.